Christmas Spirit – Snowball Surprise Soap Rip-off

IMG_6293

Most bloggers would wait until at least the middle of November to start with all the Christmas stuff, but I do not pertain that certain desirable quality called common sense.  I am one of those huge Christmas fanatics who rambles about the Christmas Spirit all year and sees no reason why “Have a Holly Jolly Christmas” should not be played at a Fourth of July party.  However, every crafter knows that Christmas started long ago!

Today, I have a cheapie’s version of the ever-popular “snowball surprise soap.”  I’m making these for our school’s December craft fair.  You can find the original tutorial almost anywhere, but I found mine on a Family Fun magazine at the dentist’s.  In most instances, people grate Ivory soap with a cheese grater, but since I had neither, here is my version.  It is incredibly easy, and safe enough that your four-year-old could probably complete most of the project.

IMG_6275I attempted this a year ago, but I did it with a friend’s apple saucer.  Since apple sauce is much finer than grated cheese, it took me forever to get half a bar of soap grated, and it didn’t hold together very well.  It’s that pitiful fail  in plastic wrap with the “surprise” painfully obvious.

IMG_6277The main ingredient is Lever 2000 white soap.  It was the cheapest they had at Costco the day that I bought it.  Ivory soap, which most people use for this project, is much more expensive.  You get about a quarter of the amount for the same price.

IMG_6272 “Is that a plastic cup?” you say.  Yes, indeed it is.  Since I do not have a cheese grater, I poked holes into a disposable plastic cup with a kitchen knife in an act of desperation.  (Sorry, mom, about the kitchen knife.  I promise I’ll wash it afterwards.)

IMG_6279I vigorously grated the soap against the plastic cup, and I got through the bar in about ten or fifteen minutes.  The plastic cup does a lot of creaking and squeaking, but it works, and is probably safer for young children than a cheese grater.  Tip: do this in a container that will hold water.

IMG_6278 I added a small quantity of warm water (actually, I added too much) to my soap.  Using my hands, I molded the flakes into a ball shape around one of the cute Christmas buttons you see on the left, making sure to cover the button.   This part is a little bit messy!

 IMG_6283One bar of soap made about five snowballs.  It depends on how big you want them.  Because the snowballs were so mushy and messy, I felt the need to roll them around in my extra soap fluff, but they turned out looking like coconut treats.

I pressed the shreds into the rest of the with my hands, and they became the beautiful snowballs you see below, which look much nicer in person!

IMG_6293

And, since my hands were so coated with soap, I took the chance to give our bathroom sink a good scrubbing.  Now I have five cute snowballs and a very clean sink!  The whole project was made with materials I already had, so the cost was…

drumroll please…

$0!  Amazing for something both fun and functional!

Good luck with your Christmas crafts, and Happy Holidays!

*Update:  I’m not sure what exactly happened, or if I’m hallucinating, but I just saw this post on the #111 Clever Chicks Blog Hop at www.the-chicken-chick.com!  Please visit Kathy and her amazing blog (which happens to be my go-to website on all matters chicken) and say thank you for me!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Spirit – Snowball Surprise Soap Rip-off

Leave a Reply

