Christmas Spirit – Egg Ornament Tutorial

IMG_6613

Yes, I am finally doing a proper tutorial!  Who’s proud of me!  Most of the credit for this project has to go to MissPrissy from BackyardChickens.com, who inspired me with this post.  There are some really nice ones on that thread!

As I have previously stated, I am participating in our school’s craft fair this year.  One of the main products I am selling is egg ornaments, like the one pictured above.  I have a lot more.  Here I go…

IMG_6540 IMG_6542IMG_6543 IMG_6546IMG_6547 IMG_6548IMG_6550 IMG_6551

What do you think?  Aren’t they cute?  I just love them!  They’re also quite elegant, if I do say so myself.  Some of them, at least.  I made them with rub-ons from the K&Company, which look like this:

IMG_6538

I got them on ebay.com for something like $6.99.  It’s part of my very early Christmas present.  They were a bit damaged from shipping, but still perfectly usable.

So, to start, you’ll need:

-rub on transfers (from online or your craft store)

-wide popsicle stick or something similar

-blown egg

-Mod Podge glue

-brush (foam or just a normal art brush)

-bead caps

-string, metallic cord, or something similar

-toothpick

-thumbtack

IMG_6567

1.  First, you will need a blown egg.  There are about a million and a half tutorials on how to do this.  Don’t take Martha Stewart’s advice an buy an egg blower.  If you must, buy a “nasal aspirator,” or as I like to call it, a snot-sucker.  They’re about six dollars cheaper.  And a word of advice: make the hole on the top larger than the whole on the bottom.  I keep forgetting to do this, and it’s really annoying for me.

IMG_6572

2. Choose your rub ons and rub them gently into the egg surface with your popsicle stick.  Don’t worry about crinkles and wrinkles, because they will be there.  If you look closely, actually, if you look at all, you will see my little mistakes.  I was running a little short on supplies, so I know this design isn’t amazing.

IMG_6576

3.  Using a thumbtack, carefully enlarge the hole at the top you made for blowing the egg.  Or, if you were smart and made the hole at the top bigger, you won’t need to do this at all.  Unfortunately, I did not join the smart club of people.

IMG_6586 IMG_6589

4.  Take a toothpick, preferably one with ridges at the top, and break it in half.

IMG_6590 IMG_6592

5.  Take your pretty string, cord, whatever and tie it to the toothpick.  If it has ridges, tie it to one of the ridges.  Just making a simple knot with both strands should work.  Be sure to pull it tight!

IMG_6593 IMG_6594

6.  Insert the whole toothpick into the hole at the top, pushing it and the knot of string all the way into the hole so it looks something like the second picture.

IMG_6585 IMG_6597

7.  Thread the bead cap through the loop of string and apply Mod Podge to the bottom with your brush.  If you don’t know, Mod Podge looks like this:

IMG_6591

…and you can probably get it at your crafts store or online.

IMG_6599

8.  Press the bead cap carefully onto the egg.  Make sure it covers the hole nicely, and make sure it actually sticks.  Apply another layer of Mod Podge over it.  Once the bead cap is on, there isn’t much to do except wait.  I have no idea how long this takes, because I was making my sheet music egg ornament while waiting for it to dry.  I’ll post that tutorial soon!

IMG_6579

Optional step 9:  I added a little snowflake to the bottom of the egg because I had a big hole there to cover up.  Be smart and make the hole on top larger!  However, I think it adds a nice touch.

Optional step 10:  If you plan on passing these down as family heirlooms, you might want to coat the whole egg in a layer of Mod Podge.  However, I like the look of the uncovered eggshell, so I chose not to do that.

IMG_6613

Sooo… that’s it!  You should have an elegant and unique ornament that people will think you spent hours fussing over even though you probably spent about 15 minutes on it.  Unless something went wrong, which totally doesn’t happen to me all the time…

Hang a bunch of them on your tree and you’ll have all of your guests oohing and aahing over them!  But tell them No Touchy.  They are eggshells, and they will break.  Store them in a cushion of tissue paper and they should last for years.  If you have small children, hang these on the top of your tree.

So, these take about an hour and a half and $10 dollars (counting the eggs, which you get to eat) for ten ornaments!  Which is great, since most crafts take much longer than that!

Have fun with your ornaments, Happy Thanksgiving, and Happy Holidays!

P.S.  Argh!  I forgot again!  This post is linked to the Clever Chicks Blog Hop #115 at www.the-chicken-chick.com .

Now, Happy Holidays!

-Coco

4 thoughts on “Christmas Spirit – Egg Ornament Tutorial

Leave a Reply

