Spazzing up Store-Bought Soap: Easy Oatmeal Soap

Now, as you probably all know, I am incredibly cheap.  I’m not even going to mask it with the word “frugal” or “thrifty,” I’m just plain cheap.  I refuse to spend any unnecessary money, even on a cute craft that would make the world love me forever.  I use the cheapest materials possible, and spend the extra hour to make it nice.  Now, you might remember that I made pom pom bookmarks for my friend, and shared it with you in this post.  I mentioned at the end that I also gave her another gift, which was oatmeal soap.  My friend has this incredibly strange obsession with natural ingredients that are “good for your skin.”  It annoys the heck out of the rest of us.  These few months, she has been absolutely crazy over oatmeal.  Whenever we mention anything involving oats or oatmeal, she immediately says, “Oh, oatmeal is really good for you skin!”  And then, “But it is, really.”  Once, when I went over to her house, I caught her chopping oatmeal into fine powder with a kitchen knife.  While we were chatting, that was what she was doing.  Chopping oatmeal into a fine powder.  This friend of mine also has a mom who has an addiction to any and all cooking machines, so of course, she had a food processor, but she said that the oatmeal didn’t do well in the food processor.  To satisfy her insatiable desire for oatmeal on skin, I decided to use some leftover snow grinds from my snowball soaps from this post and make her some oatmeal hand soaps.

IMG_6617First, I loosely chopped some oatmeal, just the normal Old Fashioned Oats from Quaker Oats.  You could probably use any other type, we just happened to have that.

IMG_6279

Then, I ground up some more soap.  You can visit my Snowball Soap post for more on that.

I then mixed the two together.  Do not chop too much oatmeal!  This was the mistake I made.  You shouldn’t have more than a 1:5 ratio of oatmeal to soap.  I didn’t take any pictures, but it shouldn’t be too hard to figure out how to mix oatmeal and soap.

IMG_6618

I don’t have any more specifics, but basically, I added some warm water to the soap grinds and shaped it into little disks, like the kind you get at hotels.  I cut up a brown paper lunch bag into circles and folded it around the soap disk.  I added a little label on the disk.  The soaps (there were eight of them) were packaged in a gift box I learned to make from this post on Homemade Gifts Made Easy.

So, this is a nice way to spazz up some cheap-o store-bought soap you have!  Of course, you can also add essential oils (but they might mix badly with the original scent of the soap), dried and crushed herbs, or even enclose a figurine like I did in my Snowball Soaps post.  Now that I think about it, this might make a great Christmas gift!

One that note, happy whatever you celebrate, or if you’re like me, Merry Christmas!  Get gift-making!

-Coco

2 thoughts on “Spazzing up Store-Bought Soap: Easy Oatmeal Soap

Leave a Reply

